New title

The Wilful Thing

‘I am no bird; and no net ensnares me; I am a free human being with an independent will.’

Charlotte Brontë


Gill Smith’s The Wilful Thing is inspired by the life of Charlotte Brontë who obeyed her inner call to write despite the restrictive expectations placed upon her during her lifetime. Smith makes innovative use of text and image to depict the insistent nature of the creative impulse.

ISBN: 978-0-9956478-5-5
Format: Hardback, quarter cloth binding
Dimensions: -
Length: 42 pages
Publication Date: 03/09/2018
Genre: Picture book for adults

Other releases

A Perfect Mother

A bracing, hypnotic story of mid-life crisis about the complexities of love, relationship and legacy from début novelist Katri Skala.   A Perfect Mother is literary fiction in the tradition of Claire Messud and Rachel Cusk – honest, multi-layered, and emotionally demanding of its reader. Katri Skala is as accomplished at weaving a compelling drama […]

Bed 12

Bed 12 is a poignant and darkly comic account of what it’s like to fight for someone’s life. It’s for anyone who wonders about their own mortality, who has experienced the serious illness of a friend or relative, or who cares about the NHS. More info

Love Letters

Deborah Brown describes the trajectory of a relationship using combinations of the four letters in the word ‘love’. The story is told entirely through illustrated typography. Each of the letters takes on a character of its own with powerful effect, conveying complex meaning through deceptively simple form.

The Wisdom of Love in ‘The Song of Songs’

Reynolds offers a fresh interpretation of this sensual and mysterious poem in the Old Testament, long considered the most important book of the Hebrew Scriptures but nowadays relatively unknown.