New title

A Perfect Mother

A bracing, hypnotic story of mid-life crisis is at the centre of a novel about the complexities of love, relationship and legacy from début novelist Katri Skala.

 

A Perfect Mother is literary fiction in the tradition of Claire Messud and Rachel Cusk – honest, multi-layered, and emotionally demanding of its reader. Katri Skala is as accomplished at weaving a compelling drama as she is at asking the big questions: what do we inherit from the broken histories of our parents and our grandparents and how does this shape our own sense of identity? Can we ever overcome the past? Are stories, the ones we are told and the ones we tell, integral to how we know each other and how we love? What does it mean to be a good parent, let alone the perfect mother? Brilliantly mixing a novel of ideas with a psychological morality tale, The Perfect Mother digs deep into the heart of these questions in a subtle intense prose.

ISBN: 9780995647848
Format: Hardback
Dimensions: -
Length: 200
Publication Date: 25/05/2018
Genre: Literary Fiction
£12.99

Other releases

Bed 12

Bed 12 is a poignant and darkly comic account of what it’s like to fight for someone’s life. It’s for anyone who wonders about their own mortality, who has experienced the serious illness of a friend or relative, or who cares about the NHS. More info

Love Letters

Deborah Brown describes the trajectory of a relationship using combinations of the four letters in the word ‘love’. The story is told entirely through illustrated typography. Each of the letters takes on a character of its own with powerful effect, conveying complex meaning through deceptively simple form.

The Wisdom of Love in ‘The Song of Songs’

Reynolds offers a fresh interpretation of this sensual and mysterious poem in the Old Testament, long considered the most important book of the Hebrew Scriptures but nowadays relatively unknown.